The 2019 Headlinemoney Awards celebrate editorial excellence and top-flight communications from around the world of financial services media.

The awards comprise categories for individual financial journalists, as well as media outlets covering different aspects of the financial market place. Several awards are also presented to professionals working in financial services PR and communications. 

The majority of the category winners are decided by their peers from around the money media in a rigorous, two-stage nominations and submissions process.


Headlinemoney’s users represent the entire financial services media spectrum – from editors and journalists, to communications experts, media relations professionals and PRs at the other.

In the journalist and media outlet categories, professionals from the entire user universe are encouraged to make as many nominations as possible justifying their decisions each time.

For the awards recognising the work of PRs and communications professionals, the vote is only open to the financial journalist community making the results even more noteworthy and the trophies even more coveted! 

  • After nominations in a particular category close, shortlists are compiled based on who received the most votes. Making it on to a shortlist is an achievement in itself.
  • Shortlisted candidates are then invited to submit examples of their work for the second stage of the judging process. 


Category winners are determined following careful and considered deliberation by dedicated judging panels comprising experienced financial services media professionals including journalists, communications professionals and well-known industry figures. In 2017 more than 120 individuals gave up their time to judge and a similar number were involved for 2018.

The results are determined following an initial round of online scoring followed by face-to-face judging sessions. There are more than 30 judging sessions in total, each one chaired by financial journalist and editor, Andrew Michael.



In 2019, the Thought Leadership category within the PR and communications section, along with the three ‘Story of the Year’ awards aimed at journalists will be self-nominated in format.

Once entries have been received, they will be subject to the same shortlisting process as with the other awards categories and face-to-face judging panels will be convened to decide the eventual winners in the usual way.



Headlinemoney’s overall Journalist of the Year award will be presented to the individual whose work, in the opinion of the judges, surpassed that of all of his or her peers during the calendar year 2018.